The 30th ROSACON was held at Taj Gateway Resort Pushkar, Ajmer from the 2nd to 4th of February, 2018, by the Ajmer Orthopaedic Society and Department of Orthopaedics, JLN Medical College, Ajmer. The theme of the conference this year was –‘How I can do Better’. The Organising Secretary was Dr. M. Gupta and the Organising Chairman was Dr. N. L. Jhamaria.

The conference started on 2nd Feb 2018 with two workshops, one on TKR and second on HFN. The workshops included lectures, discussions and hands-on with saw bone. There were more than 100 Participants.

The workshop on TKR was moderated by Dr. Vijay Sharma and faculties included were – Dr. Rajeev Bhargava, Dr. Rajiv Gupta, Dr. Lalit Modi, Dr. Subhash Jangid and Dr. Rahul Garg. The topics included – Choosing the correct patient, Correction of Various deformities in primary TKR, Cementing Technique and Rehabilitation. It was  followed by hands on workshop with saw bones.

The 2nd workshop was on Atlas HFN. Moderator was Dr. Dilip Mehta. The topics included – issues with traditional implants, concepts and benefits of integrated interlocking system in nails and benefits of on table compression, followed by hands on workshop.

In the evening, the Ajmer MS Orthopaedic Alumini function was held at Bhanwar Singh Palada Palace, Pushkar. Firstly, all those who left us were remembered. Former HODs and senior teachers were felicitated. Prominent names in the function include Dr. P. S. Saxena and Dr. A. S. Chundawat. All alumni were called on stage with their families and were introduced to the rest. There were several performances by the alumni, along with their family members and a mime dance by Dr. Deepak Jain and family. The cultural programme was followed by Dinner.

3rd February 2018

The day began with free paper sessions – important papers included – Lateral position in spinal surgery by Dr. Saleh M Kagzi, Productivity in orthopaedics by Dr. Tushar Agarwal and Medicolegal aspects in orthopaedics by Dr. Deepak Jain.

The Trauma session was moderated by Dr. Rahul Katta. Key speakers were Dr. Amit Tolat – Terrible Triad, Dr. Kuldeep Nathawat – Proximal Tibia fracture and Dr. Jayant Sen – Pilon Fractures.

The conference was inaugurated by Prof. A S Chundawat, the senior most orthopaedic surgeon of Rajasthan. The guest of honour were Dr. Atul Shrivastava, Hon Secretary of Indian Orthopaedic  Association and Dr. Ramesh Meena, Vice President of IOA .

The welcome address was given by Dr. NL Jhamariya, and Dr. Rajiv Siwach. Dr. Jayant Sen, Hon Secretary presented a brief account of the activities of ROSA. Dr. Mahesh Gupta Organising Secretary of ROSACON 2018 gave the vote of thanks.

Dr. Vinod Jaskaran Porwal Gold medal for Best PG paper at ROSACON 2017 was awarded to Dr. Mahendra Swami and Dr. Girija Nath – Leela Sen Gold medal for winner of PG Quiz to Dr. Raghvendra Choubisa.

Dr. P.K Sethi Oration was delivered by Dr Anil K Jain Director Prof. & Head Deptt. of Orthopaedics, UCMS & GTB Hospital and past President IOA on ‘TB Spine- Impact of research evidence on clinical practice’. Dr. J.C Sharma Oration was delivered by Dr. Trilok Gupta Senior Consultant on ‘Violence against doctors – causes and prevention’. Dr. H R Jhunjhunwala oration could not be delivered by Dr. Shailendra Sharma due to personal grief. Chairpersons for the orations were President ROSA Dr. Rajeev Siwach and Secretary ROSA Dr. Jayant Sen.

In the Arthroplasty session prominent speakers included – Dr. Vijay Sharma, Dr. S B Solanki, Dr. Rahul Garg and Dr. Anil Arora. The panel discussion was moderated by Dr. Anoop Jhurani.

The afternoon free paper session speakers included Dr. Rajesh Sarin, Dr. Kapil Gangwal, Dr. Amit Tolat and Dr. Tushar Agarwal.

Symposium on lumbar disc disease moderated by Dr. Chirayu Pamecha included Dr. Rushma Tandon, Dr. S S Sankhla and Dr. Vinay Joshi. The 2nd symposium in spine session was on thoraco lumbar fractures.

Dr. Vinod Jaskaran Porwal Gold Medal paper session included 8 best short listed  papers of PG students. The chairperson were Dr. Rakesh Bhargava, Dr. Trilok Gupta and Dr. Jayant Sen.

Arthroscopy session speakers included Dr. Rajeev Gupta, Dr. Saurabh Mathur and Dr. Abhishek Gupta. The topics for panel discussion included – meniscus tear, partial cuff tear, and recurrent patellar dislocation. The discussion was moderated by Dr. Vikram Sharma.

E-posters were displayed on screen for the whole day.

The GBM was held in the main hall at 5pm.President Dr. Rajeev Siwach called the meeting to order. The Lifetime achievement award was given to Dr. PS Saxena of Ajmer and Dr. MM Bapna from Bharatpur. Other awards and fellowship certificates were presented. Secretary’s report was given by Dr. Jayant Sen and Treasurer’s report was read by Dr. Rahul Katta. Members were informed about new fellowships and awards by ROSA. Everybody agreed that strong association needed strong financial back up. It was requested to all that audited financial report of ROSACON be submitted to ROSA within 3 months after the conference or before 31st August. No consensus could be reached about penalising for delay. ROSACON Jodhpur gave Rs 5 Lakh to ROSA. They were requested to consider more. Mid Term ROSACON went to Jaipur as the only bid received and ROSACON 2020 was taken by Kota after secret ballot.

The banquet gala dinner and cultural programme with music, singing and dances was enjoyed by all.


4th February 2018

The morning free paper session included presentation on Unicompartmental knee by Dr. Sahil Gaba,  Dr. Rajesh Goyal on role of PRP in OA and Dr. Ashok Mittal presented paper on cross section anatomy in Ilizarov.

The Hand and Wrist session, Dr. Poornima Patni presented on nerve injuries, Dr. Amit Mittal on wrist arthroscopy and Dr. Amit Tolat on Scaphoid fracture non union. Session was moderated by Dr. Amit Vyas.

Afterwards there were two free paper sessions for residents and one for consultants.

The interviews for ROSA-JOS Overseas Fellowship were held at 10 am by Dr. Amit Tolat, Treasurer BIOS, Dr. Rakesh Bhargava President JOS and Dr. Jayant Sen Secretary ROSA. Dr. Naresh Goyal joined for selection for ROSA- CS Goyal Fellowship. Dr. Umesh Meena and Dr. Gaurav Garg were selected for the ROSA- JOS Overseas fellowship and Dr. Sahil Gaba for ROSA- CS Goyal Fellowship for year 2018.

At the valedictory function the organising chairman and secretary conveyed thanks to all the delegates and the family members. Thanks also conveyed to audiovisual team, media, working committee of ROSACON 2018, trade participants, staff of TAJ and Palada palace and all those whose name could not be mentioned.

Dr. Rajiv Siwach handed over the ROSA President garland to next president Dr. Mahesh Gupta.

Our motto was to give maximum participation as a faculty to our state orthopaedic surgeons. This time we also put the Dr. Vinod Jaskaran Porwal Gold medal award paper session for residents on the main day (3rd February 2018) so as to give an opportunity to present the papers in the presence of the most of the senior faculty.

The conference is successful only when the participation of the delegates becomes the highlights of scientific event and we as organising team are overwhelmed with the cooperation and support and post conference feed back.

All were invited to next ROSACON at Udaipur.


Dr. Mahesh Gupta

Organising Secretary